Spinach milk

When changing my exclusively breastfed daughter’s diaper, I saw small chunks of spinach mixed in with her poop. Staring at it for a moment, my extremely sleep deprived brain thought, “Hmm… makes sense.  I did have a lot of spinach this week.” My husband looked at the diaper and agreed. About thirty seconds went by before it hit me: there were no chunks of spinach in my breast milk. I pointed this out to Mike, and we both stood there, staring at our daughter’s diaper, for over a minute. “How did it get there?” he asked. We both denied feeding her any solid food. “Maybe spinach is so hearty that it was able to reform itself in the milk after it was expressed?”  I’m a nurse, I know better than that, but lack of sleep does funny things to our brains.

Realizing that we were too sleep deprived to come up with an answer, we put a new diaper on her and forgot about it.  Several hours later I sat down at the kitchen table and picked up the newspaper. Here’s what I found:

 

 

 

IMG_20121201_234301

3 thoughts on “Spinach milk

  1. Hello, I found your blog on Pinterest and after reading two posts, I was hooked. I’m currently in Nursing School and I love it. I started my own blog a little earlier tonight because I was inspired by yours. I only have two posts so far, but I’d love for you to check it out!
    Thanks, Devon 🙂

Leave a Reply

