Attack on your eyes?

Today was an interesting day. Vicki told me to go pick the next patient up from the waiting room, take him or her back to their ER room, and begin their assessment. To complete the assessment, the nurse must document what is going on with the patient so that the doctor can look at the chart and know the majority of the important background information before even entering the room. Most patients in our ER are there for non-emergencies that are simple to describe. "Headache for two days." "Vomited this morning." I confidently picked up my first patient’s chart, called her name, and looked down at her reason for visiting. "My navel had a fever last week, and I have an attack on my eyes." Oh great! My first patient is a psych patient. How do I handle this? I don’t want to embarrass myself by documenting something like this! While walking the woman towards her room (and looking for a place to hide), I was picturing the doctor gathering all of the ER staff together to laugh at my paperwork after I was done- "Navel fever?!" Crazy nursing student! Then I started thinking that this was some sort of practical joke- they had a nurse from the next shift pretend to be a patient just to see how I’d handle their crazy symptoms. Thankfully, this was not the case. Once I had the patient in her room, I was able to figure everything out- she had a hernia and has auras with her migraines. She just had a creative way of explaining everything!
A few hours later, I got to start my first IV! It didn’t exactly go as planned, but it didn’t go as bad as I feared either. The patient was a teenager who was extremely dehydrated, and I needed to draw blood and start an IV. I was able to get a vial of blood, but then the vein blew, so Vicki had to poke her again. I felt bad, but she was understanding. Maybe next time?
11 thoughts on “Attack on your eyes?

  1. That would be cruel and unusual punishment if the staff set you up with a practical joke. *whew!*  You scared me there for a minute. 🙂

  2. this sounds like an amazing clinical experience keep up the good work!
    that experience with ivs/blooddraws will be invaluable!

  3. I am doing the Katie Cheer for you!!! Dance moves included!! It kind of looks like the funky chicken mixed with the electric slide!!!
     
    GO KATIE!! GO KATIE!!

  4. You will truly be AMAZED at how people describe symptoms. Eventually it becomes second nature! Although the navel fever did stump me! Makes sense when you know what she\’s talking about!! Have a great time…you\’ll never have quite so much freedom to be ignorant as you do right now, so take advantage of it and ask every stupid question you can think of!!!
    *hugs*
    Jean

  5. Unfortunately, being a student in any medical discipline means that the best way to learn is through your mistakes.  You\’ll make many of them, and feel bad about them, too, but in the end you\’ll be a better health professional for them.  It can only get better with time 🙂

  6. navel fever..  hmm…  Dweeb had a patient that was brought in by ambulance because he thought he had a tumor in his navel.  Dweeb cleaned all the lint out of his navel and sent him home. 
     
    You\’ll get your share of weird ones.  You\’ll get the IV.  Don\’t sweat it.
     
    : ) sue

  7. wow! That is a creative way to describe those things! Now I am starting to worry that I\’m going to have to get an H&P on a complaint like that which I will never understand! I\’ll be sending you emails so you can decipher what they are saying for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

