Great nurses

Although I have talked a lot about nurses who failed to
impress me, there really are many wonderful nurses out there. This is from my
friend John:

When I did my day of observation in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit), I
worked with a nurse named "Bobbi." We had two patients, a 1 1/2 lbs
boy, and a 3 1/2 lbs, two month old (also born at 1 1/2 lbs and 25 weeks)
girl. However, down the hall another nurse, "Suzy" had sole responsibility
for a 13 oz. girl. This baby was so tiny. She was one of a set of
twins born at 25 weeks. Her sister had already died, and she was in a
very precarious condition.

About 11 am Bobbi’s phone rings. She then says, "Suzy needs help,
wait here until I return." So I am standing there when about 10
minutes later two EMT’s come rushing by with this full size gurney and go into
Suzy’s pod. I thought, "Surely they aren’t going to use that full
size gurney to transport that tiny little baby." Well about 10
minutes later they come rushing out headed in the other direction. On the
gurney is Suzy, her scrub top covered in blood, and holding a blood soaked
towel to her face. She had popped a blood vessel inside a nasal cavity,
and was bleeding profusely. She and Bobbi couldn’t get it to stop
bleeding, so she was being transported down to the ER for treatment.

The other nurses gathered and decided how they were going to re-shuffle the
work for the rest of the shift, as it was obvious Suzy wasn’t going to be
back. She had lost quite a bit of blood.

About an hour later I am in the hall when the doors swing open, and here
comes Suzy, literally rushing back to her pod. She had on a way too big
jacket to cover her blood stained scrubs. You could see
cotton sticking out of both of her nares, and there was a strip of tape
across the bottom of her nose to hold the packing in.
Bobbi and another nurse stopped her and asked, "What are you doing
here? Go Home." "I need to finish my shift," says
Suzy. "No," said Bobbi, "We’ve got it all worked
out and me and the other nurses are going to cover for
you. It will be fine. Go home." Suzy looked at her with
these steel cold eyes and said, "No one knows her (the 13 oz preemie) like
I do. I need to finish my shift." That stopped
Bobbi cold. She thought for a second and said, "You’re
right. We don’t." With that she got out of Suzy’s way.

I didn’t think much of this at the time it happened, but I have thought
about it a lot since. When I grow up, I want to be just like Suzy, who is
so dedicated, and Bobbi, who puts pride aside to do what is right for the
patient.

6 thoughts on “Great nurses

  1. My 6yr. adopted son RonEl was in Neonatal Intensive Care Unit for 10 weeks.  He was born at 26 weeks and weighed 1#10oz.  He came home on oxygen and a monitor.  He was our foster son, We visited him daily in hospital.  He and I developed a deep bond.   The nurses in Bronson hosp. Kalamazoo, Mich. are realy GREAT.

  2. THAT is AMAZING dedication!!!!!  I can hardly believe the courage of that woman and her care! 
     
    And kudos to those students who helped you out–these are the things that make life wonderful.  🙂

  3. What an amazing story!  I want to be like these two inspiring nurses too! 
    Isn\’t it sad how the negative stories take over all the good postive ones in the medical community??
    Have a good week Katie!
    Eve

  4. When I worked in healthcare, I met some great nurses, but I would have to say that these are 2 of the greatest.  Those are some tiny babies! WOW!
     

  5. My experience has been that taking care of patients in NICU and Oncology, nurses are the most wonderful and dedicated and loving to their patients.
     
    : )  Sue

  6. Hmmmm-
    I hate to disagree, but this is one of the fundamental problems that nurses face.  The inablilty to let others help (even though they may need it).  Furthermore, the idea that no one could take care of the premie as well as Suzy is just plain ridiculous.   Don\’t get me wrong.  I love nursing.  It is a fantastic profession, but this self sacrifice to the point of self destruction has put an end to many great nurses.  This idea that it is noble and okay to risk our own health has got to stop.  Yes-there are times when we need to stretch for our patients.  This was clearly a time where Suzy practiced bad judgement.(and so did her peers).  Katie- I were to pass on any decent advice it would be the following:  Know when to say when.  Sometimes you will be Bobbi and need to cover for your peers.  Sometimes you will need to remember (not be) Suzy and go home when you know you need to.  Suzy, in my opinion, became a liablility to that patient when she came back. 
    However both nurses, when in good health, sound excellent, and I love to hear about excellent nurses. 
     
    Best Regards,
    GenXNurse

Leave a Reply

