Creative “explanations”

I have been sick the last few days, which is why I haven’t been writing much. I do not want any of you to start having convulsions or tremors from "Katie withdrawal," so I decided I had to post something soon. But because I’m not feeling so good, I need your help on this one.

When someone asks you a question that you don’t know the answer to, you are faced with three options: tell them that you don’t know, pretend like you did not hear them, or make something up. I know that we all choose the third option on occasion, either for entertainment value or because we don’t want to admit that we don’t know it all. Do any of you (especially you parents out there) have good "explanations" that you have given when you don’t know how to answer a question?

When I was in grade school, my classmate Allen was dared to run into the girls’ restroom. Allen came out of the restroom with a confused look on his face. "Why does the girls’ restroom have a metal box on the wall?" he asked. I explained to Allen that the teachers like the girls better, so they installed a candy machine in our restroom. Allen spent the rest of the day complaining that the boys didn’t get a candy machine in their restroom too.

Your turn!

6 thoughts on “Creative “explanations”

  1. It depends on how important the answer is. If it\’s a patient, I either apply scientific knowledge and "talk through my hat". (I\’m usually right) or, if I really don\’t have a clue, I tell them it\’s complicated and I want to make sure I\’m right so I\’ll look it up and get back to them with the correct information (then I DO) tailored to what they can understand. If it\’s family or friends, I decide on my mood then either make something up, sounding very authoritative,(LOL) or just wimp out with the truth! With my daughter, I definitely tried to be at least partly right! But I had to consider what she could handle.

  2. no fair!  I\’m still sick with this crap going around and I\’m in a fog and coughing.  I\’m having a brain fart right now, so I\’ll think about it and come back.  : )   SUE

  3. Ha!  Man, I can still remember my confusion walking into the
    restroom at a hockey game and wondering why in the world the men\’s
    restroom had a .. ahem … "candy machine."  Man, that wasn\’t a
    good feeling.

  4. Oh goodness….This could be a very funny topic.
     
    I tend to make the crap up! Of course not when it is something important. I would not make something up if it were in a professional setting.
     
    I have made up so many things to answers I did not know I can not even pin point very well just one of them. My God daughter has asked me things that I just have not had the answer for or did not want to answer cause it was to adult of a subject. My most common answer to her questions………….Meatloaf. This is the standard answer to most of those questions I just can not or will not answer.
     
    "Trishy??? Why is the sky blue? MEATLOAF!"

  5. I\’m a blonde and this response works on ALL ages….I usually tilt my head to one side and say "why do you ask?".  Love your space.  Just thought I\’d pop in.

  6. sometimes you just can\’t have explanations… my daughter for example was on the bus with us when she was about 3. She saw an old man sitting in front of us on the side seats and says, why do you have cracks on your face? (she meant all the wrinkles but thought they looked like cracks) he just looked confused and smiled.

Leave a Reply

