Diabetes lesson

There are several different types of diabetes:
1. Type 1 diabetes is an auto-immune disease where
the body’s immune system destroys the insulin-producing beta cells in
the pancreas.

2.
Type 2 diabetes is characterized by
insulin resistance and relative insulin deficiency.
3.
Gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM), or carbohydrate intolerance, is first diagnosed during pregnancy.
4. Sweetart-induced diabetes is caused by an uncontrollable urge to consume Sweetarts.

I think I am dangerously close to having type 4 diabetes. Those Easter bunny shaped sweetarts are just too good to resist…

2 thoughts on “Diabetes lesson

  1. I know what you mean…mine will be a sugar-induced coma from those chocolate-covered marshamallow bunnies and the robin eggs (whoppers) lol

  2. Okay, I\’m hoping this will come in handy for me.  I was just asked
    to translate a medical article from French to English.  I don\’t
    really speak French, so this may turn out to be quite a
    challenge.  The title says something about maternal glycemic
    variations, and I see the word "diabetique" in the text.  Lord
    help me!

Leave a Reply

