Excuses

Some of you may be surprised by this, but I am extremely
talented at screwing things up. I’ve had this ability for many years, so I have
had a lot of practice creating clever explanations for my mistakes. After
seeing a post about excuses on Dr.
Cara’s
site, I thought I would list some of my more recent excuses and
invite you guys to include some of yours.
~ After doing an awful job making my patient’s bed, the fitted sheet (one size
fits all) started pulling up the four corners of the mattress, creating a
trampoline-like effect with the sheets. It looked like a five-year-old had made
the bed. When my patient started laughing, I said, "Oops, looks like I
grabbed the wrong size sheets again!"
~ Other times when I am having trouble getting that stupid fitted sheet on the
bed and my patient is watching, I will casually mention how I heard that the
hospital bought extra-long beds for the taller patients, but hasn’t bought the
longer sheets yet.
~ After dropping the patient’s pill on the floor, "That was a pass, you
were supposed to catch it."
~ When messing almost anything up, I say, "That was just practice,"
and then try again.
~ When rollerblading with my brother and I fell in a dramatic, ungraceful way,
I got back up and imitated my ungraceful move to make it look like I did the
whole thing on purpose. Smart, huh?
~ When cleaning something very disgusting in clinicals and I start to gag, I
start coughing instead. This covers up the gag sound (and actually helps me
stop gagging) so the patient isn’t embarrassed.
~ When caught by Mike checking out a cute guy at the grocery store, "Wow,
Mike. I think that shirt would look great on you!" (Try this one at
your own risk!!)

~ My excuse? "I’m a blonde. What’d you expect?" Hey, at least people believe my excuse! LOL Sierra

~ Whenever I accidently make a mistake or just plainly do something stupid i start with…by an accident I…. usually this causes more laughs than anything.
Sometimes it’s really just by an accident! For example… by an
accident the chocolate ended up in my tummy and it’s all gone!

~ From M: "A friend of mine
started playing the piano in class while the teacher was
speaking! Knowing my friend to be the troublemaker she questioned him
about the music and my dear friend came up with this excuse, "Well,
you see our classroom is directly above the music room and when they
built the building they mixed up the pipes so actually what you hear is
coming from the music room." Needless to say, he was thrown out of the
room.

~1.) The cat did it. 2.) I’m new here, so I uh, didn’t know. Except I’m not new anymore so that’s out the window.

~ Right now, I have a few excuses:
1. I’m a first year – I don’t know ANYTHING. 2. I’m tired. 3. I’m stressed.

~ I’m sorry but it was sunny out and I was enjoying myself – the gas
pedal just naturally goes down when I’m enjoying myself officer –
didn’t you enjoying stompin’ the petal to catch up with me??? 🙂

~ Years ago while still in high school…9th grade actually…I dated
a guy I should not have.(long story) I made this lie/excuse up if I was
ever to run into him some where again and he recongized me. It would go
something like this….

Guy: "Oh Hi..How’s it going?"
Me: "Umm..Do I know you?"
Guy: "Yeah..It’s me Kris"
Me: " Sorry you must have me confused with someone else"
Guy: "No…Your Tricia right"
Me: "Yeah..How do you know my name?"
Guy: "Remember me…Kris?"
Me: "No…never seen you before"

Then me going on to say…"did you know me before 1995?….I was
in a horrible motorcycle accident and I don’t even remember my family
before then." Then say.."plus…you don’t look like someone I would
ever be friends with or even associate with…Sorry dude" and walk away. Is that harsh? Gosh..I’m bad!

10 thoughts on “Excuses

  1. I\’m not sure when i started saying this but when ever I accidently make a mistake or just plainly do something stupid i start with…
     
    by an accident I…. usually this causes more laughs than anything. Sometimes it\’s really just by an accident! For example… by an accident the chocolate ended up in my tummy and it\’s all gone!
     
    PS: I really did not know about the brain death thing. I fall under the ignorant category when it comes to that. Has there every been a case of anyone recovering from brain death? ever? :o) just have to ask… Lee difficulty.. 4! hahahaha

  2. well i didn\’t do this but i was there when it happened. a friend f mine started playing the piano in class while the teacher was speaking! knowing my friend to be the troublemaker she questioned him about the music and my dear frind came up with this excuse, "well ms o you see our classroom is directly above the music room and when they built the building they mixed u the pipes so actually what you hear is coming from the music room" needless to say he was thrown out of the room

  3. You know…I\’m not sure if mine counts as an excuse or a down right lie!
     
    Years ago while still in high school…9th grade actually…I dated a guy I should not have.(long story) I made this lie/excuse up if I was ever to run into him some where again and he recongized me. It would go something like this….
     
    Guy: "Oh Hi..How\’s it going?"
    Me: "Umm..Do I know you?"
    Guy: "Yeah..It\’s me Kris"
    Me: " Sorry you must have me confused with someone else"
    Guy: "No…Your Tricia right"
    Me: "Yeah..How do you know my name?"
    Guy: "Remember me…Kris?"
    Me: "No…never seen you before"
     
    Then me going on to say…"did you know me before 1995?….I was in a horrible motorcycle accident and I don\’t even remember my family before then." Then say.."plus…you don\’t look like someone I would ever be friends with or even associate with…Sorry dude" and walk away.
     
    Is that harsh? Gosh..I\’m bad!
     
    T

  4. There are no excuses – just reasons 🙂
    I\’m sorry but it was sunny out and I was enjoying myself – the gas pedal just naturally goes down when I\’m enjoying myself officer – didn\’t you enjoying stompin\’ the petal to catch up with me??? 🙂

  5. eheheh!!! I love this – I remember all the times I would mess up occupied bed changes as a CNA.
     
    Right now, I have a few excuses:
    1. I\’m a first year – I don\’t know ANYTHING.
    2. I\’m tired.
    3. I\’m stressed.
     
    😉

  6. 1.) The cat did it.
     
    2.) I\’m new here, so I uh, didn\’t know.  Except I\’m not new anymore so that\’s out the window. 

  7. OMG! That was so funny! My two favourite ones:
    ~ After dropping the patient\’s pill on the floor, "That was a pass, you
    were supposed to catch it."
    ~ When messing almost anything up, I say, "That was just practice,"
    and then try again.Like they say "Excuses are like assholes. Everyones got one and they all stink!"Cheers

Leave a Reply

