Temporary insanity

Do you ever have those moments where you stop and think, "If a psychologist had witnessed that- I would have just been diagnosed with five different disorders"? I had a few of those moments today.  Clinicals did not go very well, and on the way home I just couldn’t get my mind off of the things that had happened and how angry I was. Sometimes when I get really upset, I stop thinking rationally. Other times, I can’t stop my mind from role-playing what I should have said, what I will say later, or what I am going to do to solve whatever problem I am having. Then there are days like today where I simply experience a few moments of pure insanity. I was driving along and was approaching a stale green light. Right before I got to the intersection, the light turned red. Unlike you Dallas drivers out there, I knew that this meant I needed to stop. So I pushed the brakes and came to a complete stop. I looked around and there were no cars anywhere. I sat there for a few minutes and still hadn’t seen another car. Why isn’t the light turning green? As I sat there waiting, I suddenly found the whole situation so hilarious that I could not control my laughter. Yeah, crazy woman, right? For some reason, I couldn’t stop thinking about the fact that I was out there all alone, no other humans in sight, and yet I could not make myself go across a white line drawn on the ground because someone made the rule that the road is imaginarily blocked when that little light is red. Not too funny, is it? I think I need a break….
6 thoughts on “Temporary insanity

  1. Rules are made to be broken. That\’s why cops have jobs too 🙂  I would like to point out though, that I got caught so much that I learned my lesson. Last time I got pulled over I was racing street bikes in my turbo convertible….hehe…now I drive a homely saturn with a kid strapped in 🙂 Motherhood did wonders for my drivers license…

  2. Oddly enough I do the same non-sensical things all the time, and not even when I\’m stressed, just a as a normal thing…  Maybe thats why people think im a bit crazy 😛

  3. Thanks for the comment. 
     
    I always get a good chuckle when the light suddenly turns red when there is nobody else is around.  However, I enjoy the pause when it happens (there are only two traffic lights in the whole town).

  4. Now, golly!  I would have waited there, too!  When I took my driver\’s test, I did the actual driving part on a closed course.  There was a stop sign, so I came to a full and complete stop and turned right.  I was marked down for… guess what.  Not turning on my turn signal!  I looked at the inspector (is that the right term?) and looked at him as if he were crazy (I was 18) and told him that there were no cars behind me!  He said that even still, I should always use my turn signal when turning… even if there were no possibility have having a driver behind me.  So I always have!  That instilled such "fear" that I have waited at 2:00 a.m. with no other traffic around anywhere, waiting for the light.
     
    Did you at least have your heater on?  🙂

  5. I see you were victum to the traffic light fairy. This is the little imp that lives inside the light and when no one is coming other than you , will turn the light red. Then for an undetermined amount of time will keep you stopped while he/she laughes uncontrollably. Next time listen real close and you can hear the fairy laughing…………I think I need a break too.
    LOL
                                                             Bill

Leave a Reply

