John’s Lesson

I know I have said this several times, but I really mean it: I would not have made it this far in nursing school if it weren’t for my wonderful classmates. They always make me laugh, and we learn a lot from each other. Unfortunately for John, this was his week to be the teacher.
John’s patient had an ostomy bag, and John was instructed to "burp the bag" which means to let the gas out of the bag. John had never worked with an ostomy bag before, so he got down close to it and opened the bag very carefully. Still leaning down looking at the bag, John squeezed it, pushing all of the gas right into his face. Lesson for the day: point ostomy bag AWAY from face before squeezing.
11 thoughts on “John’s Lesson

  1. Hahahaha – I think I would get sick from that!  Thanks for the tip about getting my profile pic. up – I\’ll try that!  I\’ll be back to visit again soon.  Have a great day!  ~Tanya

  2. my Grandpa had a colonostomy.  At first I thought I was too weak stomached to have much to do with it.  However, five years later as he was dying I was right in there changing it and cleaning him up.  I think I could only do it because I loved him.
     
    But all you nurses … Wow!  The love you must have for humanity and strong stomachs.  It\’s a special breed and you all have my deepest admiration.
     
    Did you get my email, Katie?
     
    Vanita

  3. Eewwww that would be like the ultimate fart in the face!!!!  We haven\’t gotten to -ostomies yet!  But that is a skills check off this semester!  Looks like our curriculum is about on par right now!  Tomorrow is D-day… *gulp* today… I have to start an IV on my friend in 12 hours!!!  But more importantly… I become a human pin cushion in 12 hours!!!!!  Wish me luck!

  4. Thanks for stopping by and leaving me instructions.  Fortunaetly it was as easy as entering a nickname and saving my profile.  Good ol\’ MSN!
     
    Good luck with your classes!

  5. LMAO THAT IS A GOOD LESSON,YEP THE LECTURES ARE FUN AY WOT,OUR TEACHER IS SUCH A CLASSIC,THE THINGS WE HAVE TO SPEAK ABOUT OMG YOU COULD IMAGINE WHAT WE GET UP TO ITS ALL IN FUN I DONT KNOW WHY MORE UNEMPLOYED DONT DO SOMETHING LIKE ANY KIND OF NURSING AS IT GAINS YOU CERTS AND YA HAVE FUN ON THE WAY ….WITH MENTAL HEALTH&GENERAL ITS LIKE IS THE TOP OR THE BOTTEM LOL? ILL BE SURE TO ASK WHEN IM SUCK AS GOOGLE?MAN IT LEAVES A LOT TO BE DESIRED AT TIMES GREAT BLOGS CHEERS

Leave a Reply

