Why Dr. Google can be bad

Last night as I was brushing my teeth, I noticed these two weird bumps on my neck that bulged out when I leaned over. They are not lymph nodes, so I was curious to figure out what they were. I went to Google and typed in a few descriptive words, and started reading the summaries of the results to find the closest match. I almost had a heart attack when I read in one summary that bumps on the neck could be larva that had migrated to an area just under the skin where they would mature for three weeks. WHAT?! I clicked on the link and was directed to a Q&A forum on ferret care. That’s when I decided to call it a night and go see a doctor (not a vet) sometime in the near future.
9 thoughts on “Why Dr. Google can be bad

  1. LOL! Yeah, I do that a lot… start reading before I really "see" what it is I\’m reading about. It\’s crazy what will pop up in a search from a key word…lol.

  2. Oh my goodness! you are too funny! But I can\’t look at the symptoms for anything without suddenly developing them. I swear, I read an article on prostate cancer when I was a teen and had trouble peeing for a week.

  3. oh wow, poor ferrets! …Hey Katie, Thanks for asking about Cody (my son ) is doing ok so far this semester, will just have to wait and see. I have to work just one weekend a month , otherwise 36 hrs. per week. Our shifts are 12 hr shifts 7pm -7am .I\’m a night person .Can\’t work dayshift with all the "suits".
                                        See ya Bill T.

Leave a Reply

