The ghost

Last night as I was about to fall asleep, Skitzo, who was sleeping next to my pillow, suddenly stood up and was very tense. He was staring at something, and I couldn’t figure out what, so I turned on the light. That’s when I saw Isis sitting on the floor staring up towards the ceiling. I looked in the direction they both were looking, and again there was nothing there. At this point, I just thought there was something on the roof they were listening to. But then their heads started to follow this invisible thing, and they were both moving their heads together- they saw something I wasn’t seeing. I know it wasn’t a bug or something of that sort, because they would both have tried to catch it. Instead of being playful, they were really tense and completely freaking me out. All of the sudden they both ran out of the room. I grabbed their bag of treats, and for the first time ever, even treats couldn’t get them back in that room. So there I was, a 24 year old woman, sleeping all night with the light on. I know for sure that one of two things happened last night: there was a ghost in my room, or these two cats put their heads together and played one damn good trick on me.
19 thoughts on “The ghost

  1. Not to worry – you probably have a rodent in your walls or crawling around your ceiling. Your cats can probably smell the critter and hear it move – that \’s what\’s up with the synchronized staring routine. I had a little grey squirrel sneak in through an uncovered vent. For about a week or two before it found its way into the house, my dog and cat would sit up on the bed and stare at the ceiling. And they only did it at night. I know it was a squirrel because it was dumb enough to think my bedroom would make a suitable hide out from the cat.

  2. I have learned to ALWAYS listen to my animals. I agree that it was probably something in the wall/ceiling. It\’s scary, either way.

  3. At least you slept in the room – the light would not have been enough for me. I would have moved my pillow and covers to the couch and still slept with the light on. But, then I am the biggest chicken there is.

  4. Your cats sound really smart! That comment was meant to dissuade you from actually thinking you have a ghost.Not to alarm you but, AAAhHHH, run, I really think you do have a ghost!

  5. Don\’t you just love animals! We have a "ghost" in our house too. Our two dogs act the same way (i.e synchronized movements), but the scariest part is our pug is deaf and blind! Yet, he senses the same thing as our puppy! My pups are scaredy cats too, but they jump into bed and cling to us instead of running. I prefer the ghost theory over the rodent theory, but the trick theory is great.

  6. OMG…..that would have completely freaked me out too. I hate when our dogs go nuts and it\’s just a cat outside in the yard (there are lots of them in our neighborhood I\’ve discovered), but you never know so I always check to see what they are freaking about. Of course, if it\’s the middle of the night or late in the evening and I\’m by myself I have my cell with me and my BASEBALL BAT! lol

  7. Wow! Interesting happening to think about! I\’ll vote for a friendly spirit watching over you… perhaps one of your patients (that lovely old man?) come back to say "thank you."Hugs,MuMo

  8. Just catching up on a few days of blog reading….I read about you giving blood…or trying to !that weight restriction is high compared to most …ITs usually around 110-115…..at least with the red cross.Anyway…the restriction has to do with the proportion of blood volume to weight…in other words the more you weigh..the greater your blood volume..alot of times tiny/small/ thin people dont tolerate that amt of fluid/blood being taken off them..they end up feeling dizzy and lightheaded and drop their pressure….sorry you had to be a pin cushion…but your intentions were wonderful..keep up the good work!

  9. Diane~The 115 pound limit definitely makes sense. I do weigh enough to donate. However, I don\’t weigh enough to be poked twice if the first poke doesn\’t work. Instead of removing the needle and poking me again (which would not cause any additional blood loss), they had to dig the needle around. Had I weighed more, I would not have had to suffer through this. Very weird…

  10. I\’m going with the cat\’s putting one over on you!.. you know how sneaky those little critters can be!.. trust be tonight it\’s staring at the roof tomorrow they are painting the bedroom while your out just to see if you notice….J

  11. LMAO! Sorry, but that is both VERY creepy and funny! My precious cat did the same thing to me when I was a newlywed and alone for the first time in my new home. We were both asleep and I kid you not, the room got cold and my precious Oreo jumped up, backed into the pillow and then jumped off the bed and ran off! Needless to say, I followed her and called my parents (mu new husband was out of town) who of course laughed their behinds off! I slept in the living room with the tv and lights on! Hey, I was nineteen and not used to being alone!!! This happened a few more times(spooky), but luckily hubby was home and thought we were both weird. Oh well. Keep us posted if it happens again, hopefully not though!

  12. I can SO relate!! I\’ve always imagined things under my bed… once my cousin pretended that he was being pulled under the bed by a horrible monster and I believed him–that night, I took a flying leap to try and get into my bed, thereby avoiding the monster, but landed with a THUD onto the floor–My uncle was SO puzzled when he came up to see what was going on and I was too scared of the monster and my cousin to explain…Then! Recently, I have been DREAMING about ghosts… <shiver> So creepy! Everything turns out all right in the end, but I\’m sure glad to wake up… You should take a picture in the dark next time that happens and see if there are any "orbs." 😀 Just for fun: http://spaces.msn.com/members/ghosthunting/

  13. I can completely relate to you! I have 2 cats and they have done the same thing on several occasions. They both sleep on my bed at night and there have been a lot of nights where they would both tense up, their ears would perk forward and they would follow somthing up by the ceiling at the same time. Their heads would move back and forth in synch. It would completely freak me out. I am also 24 years old and would sleep with the light and my TV on every night. Thank goodness I moved and it hasn\’t happened again!

  14. I have been reading your blog for awhile now v. intertaining I came across some rules for cats that you might enjoy. if you have or have ever owned a cat you know these are true lol.BATHROOMS:always accompany guest to the bathroom. it is not necessary to do anything. just sit and stare.DOORS:do not allow any closed doors in any room. to get a door open, stand on hind legs and hammer with forepaws. once door is open, it is not necessary to use it. after you have ordered an \’outside\’ door open, stand halfway in and out thinking about several things. this is particularly important during very cold weather, rain, snow, or mosquito season.CHAIRS AND RUGS:if you have to throw up, get to a chair quickly. if you cannot manage in time, get to an oriental rug. if there is no oriental rug, shag is good. when throwing up on the carpet, make sure to back up so it is as long as a human bare foot.HAMPERING:if one of your humans is engaged in some activity and the other is idle, stay with the busy one. this is called \’helping\’ otherwise known as \’hampering\’. the following are the rules for hampering…1) when supervising cooking, sit just behind the left heel of the cook. you cannot be seen and thereby stand a better chance of being stepped on and then picked up and comforted.2) for book readers, get in close under the chin, between the eyes and book –unless you can lie across the book itself.3) for paperwork, lie on the work in the most appropriate manner so as to obscure as much of the work as possible. pretend to doze, but every so often reach out and slap the pen or pencil.4) for people paying bills, working on income taxes, or christmas cards, keep in mind the aim — to hamper. first, sit on the paper being worked on. when dislodged, watch sadly from the side of the table. when activity proceeds nicely, roll around on papers, scattering them to the best of your ability. after being removed a second time, push pens, pencils, and erasers off the table one at a time.5) when a human is holding the newspaper in front of them, be sure to jump on the back of the paper. humans love to jump.6) when human is working at the computer, jump on desk, walk across keyboard, bat at mouse pointer on screen, then lie in humans lap across arms hampering typing in progress.WALKING:as often as possible, dart quickly and as close as possible in front of the human; especially on the stairs, when they have something in their arms, in the dark, and when they first get up int he morning. this will help their coordination skills.BEDTIME:always sleep on the human at night so he/she cannot move around.LITTER BOX:when using the litter box, be sure to kick as much litter out of the box as possible. humans love the feel of kitty litter between their toes.HIDIND:every now and then hide in a place where humans cannot find you. do not come out for three to four hours under any circumstances. this will cause the humans to panic (which they love) thinking that you have run away or are lost. once you do come out the humans will cover you with love and kisses and you will probably get a trest.FINAL THOUGHT:whenever possible get close to a human, especially their face, turn around, and present your butt to them. humans love this, so do it often. and don\’t forget the guests.

Leave a Reply

