Lessons

When placing your patient on a bedpan, make sure the back of his gown is not tucked in underneath him (and thus between him and the bedpan).

When you go in to meet a patient at the beginning of the day and he says to you, "I think you have a bird in your tree," don’t ask him what tree. Just tell him thank you, and that the bird is allowed to be there.

After leaning over to listen to a patient’s heart, hold the end of your stethescope (or remove it from your ears) when you stand back up. If you fail to do this, it might hit the bed rail and really hurt your eardrums.

12 thoughts on “Lessons

  1. Good tips! I\’ll remember them… so shall I ask how you learned the bedpan one? Trail and error? Or, hopefully, a funny story a friend told you….lol

  2. HI! Yes, the video is new! We\’ve got truckloads of new material that we\’ve wanted to post but couldn\’t because filelodge.com has been down since before Christmas… :S But finally! It\’s back up and we have so much to post. πŸ™‚ As you can imagine, Scooter\’s constantly providing new content. :DSo did you find out about the bird and the tree? Nevermind–yes, I knew about it, and the bird\’s allowed to be there. πŸ˜€

  3. bedpan – lol … bet you\’ll never do that again!! assuming the patient\’s gown is not under him, a towel or soaker under the bedpan (i.e. an extra layer) is helpful to prevent \’spillage\’ …steth – i usually put the bell (i.e. the \’end\’ of the steth) in my scrub top pocket and leave it in my ears … safer on the ears if its in the pocket, since it won\’t swing …re: bird in your tree – you\’ll never win an arguement with a dementia patient … lol!

  4. Thanks for stopping by Katie! As for my sister, she got better had the baby. Which with all the steriods and drugs my sister had, the baby came out perfectly normal. No side effects what so ever! Truely amazing. My sister was fine until recently, she had another set back and was told that because she was intubated her lungs in some spots were over inflated and she\’s on inhalers now and has a hard time breathing. It\’s almost seems like it\’s similiar to RSV, but isn\’t because it happened last winter to her as well. They\’ve thrown out ARDS as well, and asthma, but no doctor can figure it out. On her records they put down ARDS but while everything happen we met with 8 doctors who confirmed they don\’t know what it was. At the worst she had a 50-50 shot to live, and we were told that if by the next day her O2 level drops she won\’t come out of the coma. Whatever god had planned, by miracle (i won\’t question it) she immediately came out of it by late that night and the next day had her eyes somewhat opened… in 7 days she was sitting up eating and laughing. I\’m glad to hear that your compassionate! I\’ve seen my share of "thick skinned" nurses!! :D~Lee

  5. do you know any respiratory techs that have blogs. i\’m going into it and would love to know some of their stories. your blog is great and is fun for anyone in the health field as a student or otherwise.

  6. I was a student nurse just over a year ago, and I so remember the things you\’re going through.I\’m an LPN working for a Rehab & LTC facility, and I\’m currently getting my ducks in a row to start an LPN to RN transistion in the summer.The psych section was my least favorite when I was in school and remains that way today. Below is a link to my blog of the one and only time I\’ve ever floated to our lockdown floor http://www.livejournal.com/users/angelstarrbryte/2005/01/31/I prefer to keep my glueus maximus planted on my rehab floor, its where all new admits start out before they transfer to LTC or lockdown but the majority of them do rehab and head back home eventually.

  7. I love your blog….makes me think of when i was a student nurse…and I know what you mean about thick skinned nurses..I have been a nurse for 23 years..Ive met my share….I figured I would give you yet another piece of advice…Be the best educated nurse that you can be…..If you dont know why..then go home at night and research it…use whatever means you have access to….residents, docs, interns…they love to teach for the most part and they can answer almost any question you have…and they will think more of you for asking. Listen and ask of dieticians, social workers, respiratory therapists and lab techs…you can learn something from all of them….there are lots of nice nurses….but its important to be nice..and educated…and the best way to do that is to be like a sponge and suck up all the information you can from those around you….and then one day…sure..it takes a few years…it just all makes sense..things that may have intimidated you..no longer do…you find yourself knowing the answers without asking…and everything just makes sense.And lastly…..wherever you end up working when you graduate…..dont become a floor/unit worm….get out and about…go to the cafeteria…take the long way into work….just make sure you get in contact with the rest of the world so you realize it takes a whole group of people to make a place function….I see nurses who work on a unit and never leave until its the end of the shift…they dont know the ladys name at the desk and they couldnt tell you who the security guy is…and you know what happens to those people…They think they are the only ones working hard…and the truth is everybodys working hard…we are all just a cog in the wheel as they say..believe me..the more you appreciate the people around you..the more enjoyable and rewarding your career will be..Good Luck, Diane

  8. I was brought up that telling someone they had a bird in their tree was a polite way to say that they had a booger in their nose. =)

  9. MtyAphrdti1~ LOL… Don\’t worry, I thought the same thing and checked it out… I was in the clear! There really was an actual bird who wasn\’t supposed to be there (at least he could see one)!Katie

Leave a Reply

