Great study tool

During orientation to my nursing school, we had this guy speak to us about study habits. He basically said anyone who relied on flashcards was going to fail, because there was no time to make flashcards. I left very upset that day, considering dropping out of school before it even started. I pulled myself together, got on Google (my lifeline) and found this wonderful website. It helped me prove this guy completely wrong, and helped me get an A in pharmacology!  So I thought I would share it will all of you- students and parents who want to help your kids out.
 
How to make your own flash cards:
 
~First you have to register with them. On studystack.com, click on "Logon" then click "Sign up now"
~Once you have signed up, click on "Create new stack"
~ Next, click on "Edit Stack Options" (third option on the left)
Under here, you are going to:
1. Change stack name (Ex: pharmacology test 2)
2. For description, write a quick summary of what it is, AND include your name. If you want to share your flashcards with someone else, in the search box, if they type your name, it will bring up all of your flashcard stacks (any stack that has your name in the description). If you don’t want to use your name, think of something unique that no one else would use- I’ll put "katiessample" in my description.
3. You can change the category if you’d like- it doesn’t matter.
4. Check the box next to "prevent other users from modifying data"
5. Click "Save"
 
~Click on "Add or rename flaps"
~Flaps are the title for the front and back of the flash card. THIS IS NOT FOR THE FLASHCARD INFO ITSELF!! DO NOT ENTER ANY OF YOUR FLASHCARD FACTS HERE!!!
1. In the "action" column for Flap 1, click "Edit" and type whatever name you want (Ex: drug name)
2. You can leave "type" as text. Click "Save"
3. Repeat for Flap 2 (Ex: Drug effects)
4. Save
Click "Done"
 
~ Now to the actual cards- Click on "Add or edit cards"
1. "Add cards"
2. Type your info- column 1 is the front of the card, column 2 is the back. You can use TAB to get from one box to the next, which saves a lot of time.
3. When you’ve filled up all of the boxes, click "save"
4. It will show you the cards you have made, SCROLL DOWN and click on "Add cards"
5. Repeat steps 2 & 3
6. When you are completely done with all of your cards, select "done". 
 
Scroll down, and now you can choose to use the info as flashcards, matching, tables, etc. You can also print the info in columns, and make the boxes big enough that you can just cut them & put them on actual flashcards.  I always use the flashcard mode until I have them memorized, and then use matching to review.
 
I export my flashcards to my PDA, which is wonderful because the "Quiz Whiz" program gives the flashcards as multiple-choice questions (it takes the back side of four different cards, and you have to choose which choice goes with the front of the card you see..)
 
To go back later and view the cards you have made, Sign in on the main page, and it should show you all your study stacks. To share these with classmates, give them the unique name you put in the description, and tell them to enter that in the search box on the left side of the screen. For example, to view the sample stack I just made, you would type "katiessample" and it would bring up this stack. Next to the stack name, you will see several icons. These are shortcuts that allow you to go right to Flashcard mode, Matching, etc.  Make sense? Let me know if it doesn’t and I will try to help you figure it out.
 
One more thing: Even if you do not want to create your own cards, there are usually cards premade by other students that can help you out. For example, if you are studying A&P, just type "anatomy" in the search box, and it will bring up all study stacks that relate to anatomy.
7 thoughts on “Great study tool

  1. Geez…I wish I had thought to try and find a program like that in college! It would probably have saved me from only graduating cum laude!

  2. Hmmmm, think this could work for my 2 yr old son too? I mean, flashcards can be for ANYTHING right??Anyway, thanks for the tip!Take care, Carrie

  3. Nice!!! I\’ll tell ya, there are some kids in my class who do the flashcard thing, and I can never figure out how they find the time to make them… then again, I think they are the same kids who have no life outside of school, and while they ace exams, they have the bedside manner of porcupines…

  4. Thanks for all the time you put into this blog! I have hope now! I am a prenursing student and just failed A&PII (a sickening feeling!!!). At first I thought it was me and that I should consider a new career, but after learning that 70% of my classmates either dropped or failed, I don\’t feel so bad! SO thanks so much for the encouragement! My husband came across your blog and suggested that I read it! I always write my flashcards, but due to the time, I never have time to study them!!! I was looking for a typewritter, but no one has a clue to what it is!! I can\’t figure out how to make flashcards on my computer so I will try out the website you suggested…..thanks!

  5. Thanks for all of your helpful info! It\’s funny to me that you guys were told NOT to make flashcards…they are a major study tool in my program. One girl told me to plow through the lectures word by word and make a flashcard for absolutely everything. They are convenient to carry around, and you can easily filter out what you know from what you don\’t know. Plus, it forces you to review your notes well. Since you opened the offer, I\’m going to peruse your flashcards…next semester is our big pharm semester, and I\’m sure I\’ll need all the help I can get. You rock!!

Leave a Reply

