Out of shape

You know you are out of shape when you experience shortness of breath just from opening a bag of cookies.

The last time I exercised was way too long ago. I went up to a school track and ran three whole laps without stopping. I was so proud of myself!! I drove home, and a few blocks away from my house I saw my little brother running, preparing for his cross country meet. I pulled over and said, still a little out of breath, "I just ran three whole laps!!!  He looked at me funny, and said without any difficulty speaking, "I’m almost done with my eighth mile." Cross country punk.

27 thoughts on “Out of shape

  1. Out of breath from opening a bag of cookies, what was the bag made out of? Seriously. That\’s one funny story, but what speed were you going? If it were a slow jog I think many could manage three laps, if you were running moderately then well done, if you were full-on running the entire time, then that\’s brilliant! Take care.

  2. Good on you, always good to improve your fitness. Congrats on having a site as being considered in the "Best of MSN Spaces". Haha, it is funny how others seem to do things with little difficulty that we take forever to do. Say, for me I take forever tying knots sometimes. It is weird, but quirky. Take care, -Andy

  3. I\’ve just promised to do a 5K charity run…and I don\’t know where I\’m going to find to shape up for that measly distance!

  4. Hi There, I know how you feel about the Cross Country Punk!::GRIN:: as I used to be one of the people who cursed such people as well! Of course since then, I have dropped 309 pounds(Not KIDDING!!) Drop on by, and see my space if you want. There\’s a link to my old blog there as well that I\’m leaving up as archives and a redirect to my msn address as well journaling my recovery from bariatric surgery. Basically it talks about my trip from a wheelchair to a mountainbike. I am now a full time student myself, working on getting my degree in nursing, and can truly say, I am accomplishing my goals! You\’ve got a nice blog here, by the way, and you\’re a good writer! Keep it up and as I said, drop by!

  5. Contemptu- It was actually one of those little bags of iced animal cookies. I just couldn\’t pull the stupid thing apart, and there were no scissors around! In my opinion, it was a fast jog. But when I was "jogging" I noticed that people who were "speed walking" were going almost the same speed. 😦

  6. Poor Katie,I empathize completely. I always got nauseous in high school when we had to run track! The only way I run these days is when Mr. Buffo Frog attacks! LOLRowan

  7. I just started reading your blog, and I reading enjoyed them. I am a nursing student as well in Iowa, so could really relate to some of your stories. I look forward to reading more of your experiences as well! So I am wondering what the secret is to handling the OR without passing out? I passed out from a thoracentesis procedure but I blamed it on it being stifling hot in the room, and I had had no break to eat yet! Good luck with the rest of your finals, I have 3 more this week, and cant wait to have a break!

  8. NOTICE TO ALLprayer vigil for MuMo…see my space or her comment box for details. PLEASE LET US PRAY FOR OUR DEAR FRIEND.IN HIS NAMEJC

  9. You need to remember there is cardiovascular fittness and then strength and endurence. After just a few weeks of working as a student nurse in a hospital i could tell the difference in the muscle tone in my arms from all the transfers and pulling patients up in bed, i don\’t consider myself "in shape" i cant run very far without getting short of breath, but i bet i would last longer than most daily runners in a hospital setting transfering 300 lbs patients and "speed walking" up and down the halls answering lights and doing things for the docs and RN\’s. After your done with school and you have time to breath again you can work on beinging able to run 8 miles but right now who cares…you are more fit then you realize, running around passing meds and answering call lights at your clincicals is more of a work out then you realize, your not use to jogging which is why you became short of breath, you can be in the best of shape and not be able to jog.

  10. Katie — Some of those bags are definitely tamper-proof but I recently found out a solution that will open all but the most stubborn. Fold out and hold that little foldover at the seam on the back, then grab hold of a hunk of the bag just below the "joined" part on the front and then pull on that flap and they open almost every single time.Hugs,MuMo

  11. I just saw your blog and I can relate, having graduated from nursing school in June. I have never been more tired or excited in my life. I feel for you my dear, and please know that the end will come soon. Pay close attention to those details and procedures that you think you will probably never have to do, because inevitably it will be the first thing you do on the job as a registered nurse. I ended up working overseas in a 2nd world country, in a public hospital, responsible for the care of 16 patients at a time. I used to think that if I can just graduate from school, I can do anything. Now I know I can do anything.

  12. You think nursing school is bad? Wait until you have been a nurse for 33 years!! My corns are probably older than you are! I have been a hospital nurse- primarily in Cancer nursing. I wish you all the luck and stamina needed to survive this grueling and demanding field. We need many more men and women to pursue this field as more of us are retiring than there are nurses to replace us. This job is taking it\’s toll on me and I will need a good nurse to take care of me when i finally fall over! Best wishes for a successful career.

  13. Thanks for sharing your Blog; it was entertaining. I had a loved one in the hospital for 106 days this summer. I am sure that you have allready felt the difference that you have made in patient\’s and families\’ comfort, lives, and qualitiy of life. I just wanted to remind you that everything that you do in clinicals and when you are on the job is so important and appreciated by the people that you are caring for. If it was not for the hospital staff and even two awesome nursing students I don\’t know how I would have made it through the summer. Good Luck to you.

  14. Scooter\’s eating my watch right now, and we just read your blog together. 🙂 We just wanted to say HI and avoid talking about the subject of exercise. <grin>

  15. Oh yeah…exercise…I remember that…I love those cookies you\’re writing about. I forgot about those. Mmmm…cookies…

  16. MY SISTER OK UR SPACE IS GOOD BUT DONT SHOW UR PICTURE AS A REAL BECAUSE IT IS PRHABITED FOR MAN TO SEE A FEMALE PICTURE. OK U R DOCTOR IT IS A VERY GREAT JOB BUT LISTEN , SET UR FACE PICTURE TO OTHERS IS DANGEROUS FOR UR LIFE BECAUSE IF SOME ONE (MAN) SEE A FEMALE PICTURE A BAD WORK IS START ON HIS MIND (AS U KNOW BETTER THEN ME) PLZ MAKE UR SPACE AS SUCH THAT OTHERS SHOULD GET SOME STRANG THING. IF MY TALK IS UN RESULTED THAN EMBRACE ISLAM THERE IS A THINGS WHICH U AMZINE.

  17. what a weird comment you have below there…..I have trouble opening my bags of cookies too sometimes…and my jog is more like a slow crawl!RD

  18. hi,i am a student from China.and i read your blog ,it\’s great.do u want to know a old country from me ,and i will improve my English by this!

  19. haha…I\’m a nursing school student as well…and my brother\’s family lives up by where you\’re going to school. Solution for opening cookie bags…scissors. Works every time. Guaranteed or your money back! (however, your sanity will be held hostage for years) lol I love reading your blogs!

Leave a Reply

