Live & learn

    Today we had an occupational therapist teach us the
proper body mechanics for moving patients. THREE DAYS after starting to
work with my 450-pound patient I was finally taught the appropriate way
to move him. And not surprisingly, I was doing everything completely
wrong. Somehow, our teachers don’t understand that we can’t read about
something and then just go do it. I need to be shown something &
then try it myself while being critiqued. Well, at least I have the
weekend for my back, knees, and shoulders to heal from trying to pull
my patient up in bed using only my arm muscles. LOL…. you live, hurt,
and learn.
    The physical therapists worked my patient hard
today, so he was cranky and exhausted. The doctor completely
discontinued his tube feedings, so my job was to get him to eat as much
of his food as I could. Well, once he was cranky from the therapy, he
was not cooperative at all, and refused to eat. I finally convinced him
to try one bite of the chocolate pudding. He reluctantly took a large
spoonfull, and then spit it out, all down the front of his gown. Hmm…
you just got pudding all over your face and gown to punish me? You’re
the one covered in pudding! LOL.. Unfortunately, he was smart and knew
that I would have to change his gown, and that doing so takes a lot of
effort (this was before our ‘body mechanics’ class.) Next week, he can
spit out all the pudding he wants, because I will know how to change
his gown without needing three classmates to help me!
    We are still learning how to handle certain
situations- such as when a patient asks us to go open the patio door to
let his cat in. Well, there is no patio door, and none of us have seen
any cats. So do we pretend like we let the cat in?
11 thoughts on “Live & learn

  1. I think I would say that I just let the cat in a few minutes ago and it was really happy to come in, seemed very hungry, and what kind of food do you want me to give it? Or maybe say it\’s in the kitchen eating or something like that. Distract the patient with a story of sorts. I think when they are confused, those moments pass quickly and they may not even remember the request or the question in a few more minutes. Maybe you could say you let it in and my, if that isn\’t the prettiest cat I\’ve ever seen! Where did you get that cat? How long have you had that cat? What is the cat\’s name? Or ask what color is the cat… there are two out there and you don\’t want to let the wrong one in. Think of what questions you would ask of an old person who did have a cat, just to be making conversation.Bless you, hon.. and please be careful not to get hurt because they sure get an attitude when you do, even if they haven\’t taught you right yet. My next-door neighbor is my ICU nurse and she was recently injured moving a 350 lb. patient, even though she\’s had years of experience. Hugs,MuMo

  2. Oh, Katie! Yah, I agree with MuMo, let the cat in. Those poor folks…I hope to never lose my sense of what is, and isn\’t real, but if I do, I hope there will be someone as kindhearted as you to look out for me!

  3. Man, nursing doesn\’t look like that in the movies or on TV. Of course I really already knew this, my brother-in-law is an RN in the OR in a hospital in Texas. The stories he has about what comes in throught the emergency room. I didn\’t know such objects could be shoved into such creative places!!! YUK!!Don\’t hurt yourself. Think before you lift!!!

  4. aww… thanks for the reply though…. hopefully you study hard. man, does this mean you aren\’t gonna xanga anymore. i tried this… so far i can\’t get it. study hard!d.

  5. Thanks for the comment, Katie. Sounds like a tough job you have there, but you can rest assured that your efforts are much appreciated, especially considering the shortage of nurses (and even less good ones) in America. My aunt is a nurse as well, and had a job just like yours at one point. She said it was comparable in difficulty to another job she had as a residential nurse at a Maryland state penitintiary. LOL, that probably doesn\’t make you feel any better, but I hope you keep up the good work. Even if they aren\’t able to express it, I know your patients are grateful for your sensitivity and dedication.

  6. HI, Katie!I\’ve just read all of your November blogs and you\’re great! Thanks for leaving such a cute message on our blog–I think we\’ll be linking to you, so we\’ll be back to visit again soon. I had a couple of thoughts, and instead of putting a comment on each of the "back issues," I thought I\’d put them here!First, I\’m FROM Kansas City–in Blue Springs! My aunt used to live in Overland Park, and now my sister and brother-in-law are working there. 🙂 So do your folks live there, too? Then I was going to tell you–you felt guilty about laughing every time the dentureless woman yelled, "Nure, nure!" If you didn\’t laugh while you were at the nursing home, you would be sure to go crazy! I absolutely admire that you\’re going into nursing–I am much too sensitive for the job–your mental breakdown day would be my LIFE as a nurse! lol I hope you have a terrific day! 🙂

  7. HI! You\’re online! 🙂 My sister LOVES working there, except for the commute. Thank goodness for music! I lived in Blue Springs for 12 years… While growing up. My sister still lives there with her husband and little girl–we\’re always talking about moving back, but with my husband\’s job, you go where they transfer you, I guess! 🙂

Leave a Reply

